Monday, 28 July 2014

Darkness *ULTIMATE EDITION* [Limited Edition C64 Disk Box Set]

I posted a couple of months ago about a new C64 game called "Darkness".  The developers have just released an "Ultimate Edition" with 100 copies available - click here to order yours!  (Presuming of course any are still available.)

Friday, 25 July 2014

‘GOLD RUSH! CLASSIC - an '80's classic is back!

'GOLD RUSH! CLASSIC' - the Sierra Online classic game from 1988 is back in all its original glory!  From a time when games were games and playing with your joystick meant something else.

This Sierra On-Line classic was originally launched in 1988 and has been lovingly remodelled for today's PC's by Sunlight Games.  Fans of Sierra's games will know that 'GOLD RUSH! CLASSIC' is one of their few games that did not end in 'Quest' and that it was also one of the last games to be made using the renowned 'AGI' interface.

'GOLD RUSH! CLASSIC' sends you back to the year 1848 and the start of the Californian gold rush.  Sell your land, pack your bags and grab the next ride out because fortune lies just 2,500 miles away.  Travel with Jerrod (the hero of our game) as he joins the mad rush for riches in sunny California. 'GOLD RUSH! CLASSIC'recreates an unpredictably treacherous path paved with the graves of many who never saw the glow of gold. Over 150 scenes, including realistic on-screen maps of historically accurate early American travel routes.  

Discover the American frontier!


  • Unique art design taking you back to the middle of the 19th Century.
  • Three different paths to follow.
  • Parser controls'.
  • Historically accurate map of the three available routes.
  • The original manual.
  • Previously unpublished original concept art from the 1988 dev team.
  • Compatible with Windows XP through to Windows 8 with the help of the DOSBOX.

(Wow... the chip music in the trailer has given me a headache already! :-D)

Saturday, 24 May 2014

New game released for C64 - "Darkness"

I always find it astonishing that people are still developing new games for 8-bit systems.  I find it even more astonishing when they're not only making them, but selling them on disks, cartridges and even tapes!

Darkness is such a new game for the C64.

Darkness Features:
  • Single player arcade action!
  • 100 screens in one load!
  • Lush locations to explore!
  • Atmospheric soundtracks!
  • Intro + end-sequence!
  • Bonus mini-game + music demo!
  • PAL and NTSC compatible

Darkness is available in varying formats here.

Tuesday, 20 May 2014

Aha... even more Boulder Dash games!

I posted yesterday about 2 Boulder Dash games but have since realised that there are actually 4 games in this particular Boulder Dash series.  So, here they all are:

Monday, 19 May 2014

Boulder Dash Remakes

Boulder Dash
Episode III: Final Blast

The third episode of Boulder Dash series is the ultimate challenge for die hard fans (as well as for anyone else looking for a quality time waster and nostalgia inducer).

Episode III: The Final Blast presents new levels carefully selected from other Boulder Dash games to let you take the ultimate test of your skills. It is experience that matters this time, not novelty thinking. Take the final challenge, blast it to the end.

— 32 caves copied from the very original “Boulder Dash VI” and “Boulder Dash VII” games

Buy Boulder Dash Episode 3
Download Demo

Boulder Dash
Episode IV: Rockford Returns

32 caves dug from long forgotten versions of the original Boulder Dash. New background music. Rockford returns to take you to new adventures. Diamonds, flies, the amoeba — who are we to tell you what Boulder Dash is about?..

Buy Boulder Dash Episode 4
Download Demo

Monday, 12 May 2014

Exolon Remake Released

Though I have to admit that I was never as much of a fan of Raffaele Cecco's games as his many fans were, I still remember his games quite vividly and Exolon on the Atari ST was one I had played.  Probably didn't like it so much because I wasn't much good at it! :-D

Anyway, a new remake called Exolon DX is out, and it looks very impressive.  Head over to Retrospec to get it.  It's a lot prettier than the Speccy or even ST / Amiga versions!